• Reviews

Reviews

Some of the things our guests at our villa in Val d'Orcia in Tuscany have said.

Absolute perfection

"This beautiful villa exceeded our expectations. It looked gorgeous from the photographs but it was even more breathtaking in person. The views out over the valley could be seen from the 2 outside patios and the bedrooms. There was plenty of seating for the 4 couples that were in our party. The kitchen and the rest of the house had every amenity you could want. There was ping pong, bocce ball, badminton, board games and of course a pool that was surrounded by hotel quality chaise lounges and umbrellas. Samuela, the housekeeper was so friendly and kept the villa spotless while we were there. Renting it was a simple and easy process and the owners are so accommodating with suggestions of restaurants, things to do in the area and general information about the house and the area. We simply can't say enough good things about this villa!! "

CS IL USA Sept 2016

The Villa Luisa exceeded all expectation

"Villa Luisa is a beautiful villa located off the main road where you are surrounded by mountains, olive gardens and vineyards. The grounds are impeccable landscaped and the outside pool is truly breathtaking The main house has all the charm of a historic Tuscany farm house however every modern luxury convenience is provided for. The gourmet kitchen, the indoor dining room, the beautiful outdoor dining space and the various patios with unbelievable views surround the house. We cooked in nearly every night as two of our guests were outstanding chefs and we would eat wonderful Italian meals outside to the sound of Italian music - It does not get much better than that. The Villa is perfectly located between Rome and Florence and nestled among numerous historic Hill Towns - Pienza, Montepulciano, Orvieto, and on and on. The train station to Florence or Rome is only 25 minutes away. We cannot write a complete review without mentioning Samuela, the housekeeper. She was such a wonderful treat to see every morning and she was so helpful. Since we did not speak Italian and she does not speak English we had fun communicating to one another thru Google Translate. All in all, this Villa exceeded all expectations. The owners were meticulous in their design and thoughtfulness. We could not have picked a better place to stay and will certainly stay again on our next trip to Italy. R &PG MA USA July 2016 "

R and PG MA USA July 2016

"We have all had a wonderful week here. The villa just has everything one could want - space, views, comfort and a beautiful garden. It was a real pleasure to meet both Samuela and Mario. We've had wonderful days exploring the area but the highlight was always coming back down the track to your lovely Italian home. Many many thanks. "

A&R J, Dorset UK, Oct 2015

"Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous villa with us. We had a wonderful week enjoying everything the area had to offer - dining, shopping ,touring, wine tasting, dining, walking,dining, and did we mention dining? Thoroughly enjoyed coming back each afternoon or evening to your comfortable home. Samuela and Mario were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We all hope to be fortunate enough to return again. Again thank you! Grazie mille. PS We love your Villa on the Hilla!"

K&M Seattle USA Oct 2015

"If you’re seeking a beautiful refuge in the heart of Tuscany, look no further. Beautifully renovated, yet comfortable and relaxing. Two spacious patios for relaxing and outdoor entertaining. Lovely pool area. Amazing vistas. The house and gardens are well kept by Samuela (housekeeper) and Mario (gardener), who are very helpful and welcoming. We were a capacity group, and being in the kitchen, house and grounds didn’t ever feel crowded (my personal test). It’s far enough away from the main road that you don’t hear any traffic, yet close enough for numerous day trips to explore the nearby towns. Highly recommend."

PK USA June 2015

Perfect villa for family reunion/getaway

"Arriving at this Villa was nothing less than perfect; the long winding drive to the villa and the first sight was very impressive. The property and grounds were in pristine condition, and the view of the surrounding countryside was breath taking. The owners were very responsive if needed. The housekeeper was also very knowledgeable and helpful with any questions we had. The property is perfectly located so close to so many day trip activities. We are very much looking forward to returning to this region and this villa."

CB, CA USA, May 2015

"What a wonderful week we had! Your home is beautiful, comfortable and interesting from design concepts to art selections. Samuela did a great job of looking to our needs and Claudia's suggestions were spot on for our day trips. Between you, your resources and our travel agent in Cincinnati, our group of 6 from there and Charlottesville VA had a truly memorable experience."

TK, Charlottesville USA, October 2014

"Our holiday at your home has been magical. You have built such a spectacularly authentic yet modern villa that has provided a wonderful location from which we have been able to explore this part of Tuscany. When you set about the task of transporting this dilapidated structure into the beautiful space experienced today, you infused your love of the countryside into each corner. The views are beautiful, enhanced by your exceptional landscaping and gardening - clearly a touch of the English countryside as well! Thank you for providing us also with your friend Claudia's experience; it was invaluable in planning our week here. We could not have found a better place than Villa Luisa to spend the week with our dear friends."

MB, Ohio USA, Oct 2014

"Thanks so much for sharing your home with us. Everything was above our expectations. The views and amenities were all A+. We used many of your recommendations and they were all fabulous. We had a fabulous meal with Alessandro thanks to your suggestion. Samuela was an absolute delight. We knew when we arrived that leaving would be difficult."

J & S B, USA September 2014

Beautiful Villa with Incredible Views

"As beautiful as the pictures are on the internet of this villa it is even more spectacular in person. The villa is immaculate and decoration lovely. I thought the kitchen was larger than it looked in the pictures on this website as well as the bedrooms. I don't think you can find a more gorgeous view than the one from this special villa. The owners were lovely to deal with, and very informative. We actually got to meet them and they were as lovely in person as I thought they would be. The housekeeper, Samuela, is an absolute jewel. Definitely have her cook you a meal or two for you. Mario, the gardener, keeps the gardens and grounds looking pristine. We spent two weeks there. There are many wonderful towns to visit on day trips from the villa. Don't miss Cortona and Siena. "

K K July USA, July 2014

"Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous villa with us. We had a wonderful time and we made some wonderful memories in your fantastic Tuscan villa. Samuela and Mario were very friendly and helpful. We can't say enough great things about Alessandro. His food was exquisite! We took many of your recommendations and loved La Porta, La Grotta and Castelmuzio! We also liked La Dolce Vita in Montepulciano. La Foce gardens were also beautiful. We took a day trip to Sorano and Pitigliano which were awe inspiring! A few of us cycled in your amazing, gorgeous countryside and we all survived the hills! Cant wait to come back some day. We already miss it!"

AB, Arlington USA, July 2014

Breathtaking!!

"Words cannot express how happy this trip to Tuscany and this Villa has made me. This 70th birthday will be remembered forever. Thank you to all my family,Brigid and John, Mario and Samuela."

R le B, MA USA, April 2014,

Two weeks at Villa Luisa

"Our two weeks at Villa Luisa were the most tremendous success. We had an absolutely fabulous time as did all of our guests. Everyone was hugely impressed by the house – great quality, enormous attention to detail, wonderful taste – we really couldn’t have wished for more. Many, many thanks for creating Villa Luisa. Such a wonderful place to have a special holiday. Samuela is a marvel and such a lovely person. And her cooking for us was really great. Alessandro on the other hand is a genius – some of the pasta he cooked for us was the best we had ever tasted. Thanks for putting us in touch. Being able to eat in at Villa Luisa most of the time was a real luxury but we did get out a bit to the local restaurants. We went to La Porta twice, once in the evening and once for lunch. A great success both times. Daria is such a nice person and great hostess. We also has a lovely lunch at 13 Gobi (fun people) and very nice dinners at La Botte Piena (unbelievable wine list) and Tenuta Santo Pietro. All can safely remain on your list of recommendations."

J W Sept 2013

A week in Tuscany

"We have had the most wonderful week at Villa Luisa! From the moment we came down the Strada Bianca, through the gates and down to the house we knew it was a little piece of Heaven! Everything about the house and the grounds is perfectly elegant, peacefully, calm and nurturing - we have been so comfortable here , and hate to leave! Our time was totally enhanced by having the delightful Samuela around and the gallant Mario bringing us fresh salads from the garden - 2 absolute treasures!! My Italian improved greatly, so the next visit will be even more fun! We had a wonderful birthday dinner last night cooked by Alessandro!! Molto Buono. A highlight visit for Mother was "la Foce"! Recommend to anyone who likes gardens and local history! The pool of course was sublime and a life saver in the heat. Tanti Auguri and thanks again for everything. M A Aug 2013 "

M A August 2013

La Dolce Vita

"Our second stay at this elegantly restored property far exceeded our memories. The house has all the style and grace of a true Tuscan villa, plus the comforts to match. The views and vistas in every direction are to die for. There's a first-rate kitchen for anyone who likes to cook, and the nearby towns feature lovely shops and memorable restaurants. It's a cheese- and wine-lover's paradise. And a quick dip in the pool will vanquish any ills! Surely the phrase "la dolce vita" was coined for just such a place. We shall return! G & A, 2013"

G & AE August 2013

Perfect week in Tuscany

"We stayed in this beautifully renovated house in the middle of unspoiled Tuscan countryside where every view took one's breath away. The owners have lovingly restored the house with a traditional interior in which are all the fixtures are of the highest standard. The outside spaces were large and comfortable. Bedrooms are generous and well planned with ensuite showers or baths. We loved our time there and visited the nearby hill towns and their restaurants.

It was perfect. "

MF, July 2012

Our Villa near Pienza – nothing but 5 star fantastic!

"Brigid and John thank you so much for sharing your wonderful villa with us. It was the perfect luxurious villa for our large family. We held our daughter’s wedding nearby and were visited by family and friends during the lead up, all of whom were in awe. The villa and surrounds made for a very special couple of weeks.

We will be back. "

RB, June 2012

A perfect holiday retreat

"We were a party of ten adults who stayed in this luxurious house in September. The house is in a great position for visiting various notable hilltop towns such as Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino. It was amazing, kitted out to a very high specification and extremely well equipped. The house's airy interior allowed each to have our own space. The outdoor areas; including patios, gardens and pool were beautifully landscaped and the perfect place to relax in the Tuscan sun. There were some brilliant extras such as table tennis and Wi-Fi. Brigid, the owner was keen to help us get the most out of our stay and we found her local knowledge and friendly advice invaluable. Our only disappointment was that we couldn’t stay longer! "

CH September 2012

Idyllic perfection in rural Tuscany

"I stayed in this wonderful villa for 2 weeks in August 2011 as a guest of the owners.

Located in beautiful, peaceful countryside with stunning views between the historic towns of Montepulciano and Pienza it has been painstakingly restored and luxuriously fitted out with careful thought given to the comfort of guests. It is rare for houses to match the descriptions given on websites but this villa exceeded my expectations. The light and spacious kitchen is equipped to a very high standard and a joy to use, as was my well-appointed bathroom with a 5-star quality shower.

I loved lingering over breakfast on the terrace adjacent to the kitchen before setting off to tour the surrounding countryside and charming towns. Pienza is one of my favourites with spectacular views of the Val d’Orcia. A late-afternoon swim followed by sunbathing, reading and dozing on a comfortable lounger by the lovely travertine surrounded swimming pool would precede drinks and dinner on the terrace. The holiday was pure bliss for me and I shall return again in 2012. "

MS, August 2011