• Reviews

Reviews

Some of the things our guests at our villa in Val d'Orcia in Tuscany have said.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Tuscan home

"Thank you for sharing your wonderful Tuscan home with us. What a special and magical place you have created in the gorgeous Val d’Orcia. You have considered every detail in your design making what is otherwise a rental property truly feel like a home away from home. We will certainly recommend your property to our friends at home and look forward to returning next year. Samuela is a true delight, making our stay extra special, even decorating the house with fresh flowers throughout the week. We are already planning our next visit. Grazie mille. "

Holly Petroff New Jersey USA Oct 2023

What a wonderful and magical place.

"We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Villa Luisa. Total Paradise. The gardens, pool and views were spectacular. The location was perfect. So close to Montepulciano, Pienza, Cortona, Siena, and San Gimignano. The stone villa with its arches and beautiful design was charming and welcoming. We felt at home the moment we entered. It was everything you pictured a villa in Tuscany to be. The staff was warm, sweet, and honest. I cannot speak highly enough about Villa Luisa. Truly exceptional! "

Val Rich Pennsylvania USA Sept 2023

A Second Visit

"Can't recommend this property enough. Truly stunning house in a beautiful location. Decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Utterly faultless and overseen by friendly daily cleaning and very helpful owners. "

J Bourdillon Farnham UK July 2023

My Third Visit

"This is my third and, at 4 weeks, longest visit to Villa Luisa. A month went by too quickly! How lucky we are that the Salts continue to share their impeccable home - the gardens are even more beautiful with every visit, the house as comfortable, welcoming and perfectly maintained as always, the pool inviting, olive oil delicious, and views sublime. Samuela is a joy and takes wonderful care of all guests. Villa Luisa remains a perfect retreat in a splendid location. "

L Intashi Toronto Canada June 2023

Our Holiday

"We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Lucia. The house is beautifully furnished, with views to die for. The local area is stunning, and we really enjoyed trying out John’s restaurant recommendations in the towns and villages nearby. It is the perfect place for a relaxing time with friends and or family with a stunning backdrop and everything you could need to enjoy the Tuscan countryside whether from the many different eating or sitting places around the Villa or in the many local hill towns. We had so much fun - swimming, table tennis and endless card games late into the evening as well as many delicious meals. John is an excellent host - thoughtful, attentive and full of ideas and suggestions. Do read his guide! Samuela is the perfect housekeeper, always there when you need her, but you’d never know she was there. We can’t recommend Villa Lucia highly enough and will definitely be back. "

L Thomas, London UK August 2022

A Return Visit

"I returned to Villa Luisa, with a small group of friends, and my second visit was as perfect as I had hoped. It’s hard to believe that the gardens could be even more beautiful than they were when last seen in 2019, but they are. This is a well loved and impeccably maintained property. As others have mentioned, housekeeper Samuela adds to the great pleasure of staying here. The location is splendid for exploring the Val d’Orcia, and there are almost limitless opportunities for country walks (or biking) if you wish to explore all of the ‘white roads’ in the area. The pool couldn’t be more inviting. The owners have taken great care to make their home lovely, comfortable and to provide every convenience. Those of us who can share their dream, by taking a holiday here, are lucky indeed. L Intaschi Toronto June 2022 "

L Intaschi, Toronto, Canada June 2022

10 days in Tuscany

"We cannot recommend Villa Luisa more highly or enthusiastically. As experienced world travellers, we can say with complete confidence that this property is the finest that we have ever stayed in. Podere Terra Bianca is as thoroughly, thoughtfully and tastefully updated as anyone could desire. The property is also as beautiful outside as it is inside. The lofty placement of the house provides an unbroken view the valleys and distant hills. The panorama consists of orchards, vineyards, fields and woodlands. Located between Pienza, a world heritage site, and the medieval and renaissance wine-making hill town of Montepulciano, Podere Terra Bianca is well situated for day trips to Perugia, Siena, Orvieto, Assisi, and Cortona. Podere Terra Bianca offers an exceptional level of comfort and many amenities not typically available in rental properties. Heated floors, wood-burning stoves and a fireplace, a beautiful sound system, built in charging ports, multiple locations for outdoor dining and reading, well designed lighting in and out, and beautiful views of the Val d’Orcia from every window evidence the owner’s remarkable attention to detail. Every room is generously sized and comfortably and tastefully furnished to the highest standards. The kitchen has everything one could need or want and more - minus the terror of learning to safely operate ancient gas plumbing! The bathrooms are in suite with state of the art showers and heated towel racks. Reliable high speed internet access and a beautiful, private office ensure the ability to attend to any work responsibilities that may come up without leaving the property. We have never before experienced this level of comfort and convenience in all of our years of travel in Italy and around the world. We can’t end without saying something about Samuela, the caretaker, or the magical kilometre plus drive from the main road to the house. Simply stated, Samuela is a gift. Smiling, gracious, gentle and always helpful, she tidies up six days a week and, upon request, brings fresh bread and cornetti in the morning. The long, well maintained, farm road winds through woods, an olive grove, and alongside fields before finally arriving at a walled courtyard in front of the house itself. We regularly observed deer, badgers and other wildlife on our trips to and from the house. We even happened upon a momma cinghiale and baby one afternoon. For us, Podere Terra Bianca set a new standard for vacation accommodations. Our stay was a pure delight. "

E Truly, October 2021 New York USA

All this and Tuscany too

"After a glorious week at Villa Luisa in early October it was difficult returning to normal life at home. The setting is unparalleled. From porch and patio, pool and pergola, the ever-changing views of the Val d’ Orcia are seen in the distance. The villa’s gardens are lovely, lavender and herbs for cooking planted at every turn, with hundreds of olive trees in the orchard below. Within, the house itself is beautiful, refined and elegant yet warm and exceedingly comfortable with ample space for the six of us to be together or on our own retreat to our rooms or the draw of the excellent library. The kitchen is a cook’s dream, extremely well equipped with more than enough cookware and china to set a brilliant table. The house is pristine. Unlike other places we’ve stayed where even the best of owners leave evidence of former guests we felt that Villa Luisa was built for us alone. In addition to all this comfort and beauty, the house is watched over by the delightful Samuela, the property manager, and Enea, the gardener, who not only take exceptional care of the property but who on more than one occasion saved us from mishaps (including a flat tire!) that may have wreaked havoc on our trip. All this and Tuscany too, who wouldn’t want to return! "

M McKenna, Princeton USA, Sept 2019

We will return

"It is like staying at a Four Seasons Hotel. Immaculate house in a breath taking location. Gorgeous and spacious gardens with several seating areas. Topped up with a highly attentive owner and daily staff attending to your every need. We will return! "

J Bourdilon, Farnham UK July 2019

This villa is just about perfect.

"Excellent location, private, beautifully restored, appointed and maintained, lovely grounds and views. This villa is just about perfect. The villa is spacious, beautifully restored, and meticulously kept up. It sits at the end of a several kilometer long private drive (that passes through forest and an olive grove) and is completely private. It has expansive views over a large valley from several beautiful patios. There is a wonderful staff of a housekeeper and grounds-person both of whom tidy up daily and take care of the gardens and pool. The gardens are expansive with flowers, herbs, trees, shrubs and a large lawn. The location could not be better: it is about a 15 minute drive from two modest sized historic hill towns (Montepulciano and Pienza) and is within 45 minutes of many more wonderful Tuscan towns most of which feature intimate restaurant options and places to procure local provisions. Finally, the owners (who live off-site) clearly love this place and every aspect of the experience of staying in the villa shows that: they are responsive and go the extra distance to make sure guests have a wonderful visit. Ten out of Ten. "

D Berry Minneapolis USA June 2019

We were delighted

"We were delighted by Villa Luisa from the moment we arrived for a 2 ½ week visit. It has been beautifully restored, appealingly furnished, and is impeccably clean. The house is ideally situated, and extremely comfortable with every convenience, including a perfectly outfitted kitchen. The owners use the house themselves, so this is a well-cared for and loved property. Everything is maintained to the highest standards and, as guests, we are asked to observe a few rules to help keep it that way. The housekeeper, Samuela, could not be more wonderful. She adds to the great pleasure of staying here. The gardens, attentively maintained by gardener Enea, and good-sized pool are stunning. As one of our friends said, she felt that it was just plain ‘good for the soul’ to look out onto the sweeping Val d’Orcia landscape. There are many fine walks (or biking opportunities) in the area on quiet ‘white roads’. We hired a wonderful cook to prepare many of our dinners. The Salts can refer you to her or others they know. It is special to have a local cook prepare at least some meals for you if you want the true flavour of living in Tuscany. LI & DS Ontario Canada June 2019 "

L Intaschi Toronto Canada June 2019

By far the best

"Thank you for allowing us to rent your magnificent villa. We have rented homes and apartments in Rome, Lago Maggiore, Cortona, Paris, London, etc. This was by far the best. You have put so much thought and effort into the property that we feel privileged to have been able to enjoy it. Also, Samuela is a gem. Her morning “Buongiorno” was always a wonderful way to start the day and her energy infectious. I wish we had Samuela or someone like her in our home. M H-P CA. Sept - Oct 2018 "

Hall P Sept - Oct 2018

A return visit

"I've been meaning to write you since we returned from another fantastic stay in Tuscany but I was pulled into the vortex of our research and development efforts and am now just coming to the surface for air. Our holiday could not have been more perfect, and your home is as beautiful as we first remembered it. Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy it once again! Alan B Arlington MA Sept 2018"

AB 2nd visit, Sept 2018

Attention to every detail makes this villa so special.

"We spent a blissful 2 weeks. The villa is beautiful and has the charm of an old farm house that has been totally renovated with an amazing kitchen and 5 beautiful bedrooms and baths. It has been decorated with charming interiors and many comfortable spaces. The 10 minute ride up to the villa on a dirt road, driving thru herds of sheep, wildlife and olive groves is spectacular. The views from the villa's terraces are incredible. Overlooking a national park, miles of hills and medieval towns in the distance gives you the full vista of beautiful Tuscany. The Salts are perfectionists and their attention to every detail makes this villa so special. The landscaping and the beautiful pool ,the tastefully appointed rooms with every amenity made our stay so memorable. The location between Pienza and Montepulciano was perfectly situated with less than 15 minute ride to either town. We hope to return soon. Thank you John and Brigid for creating such a magical home. ***** Richard & Janet Weinberger "

R&J Weinberger May 2018

Exquisite home in Tuscany

"We had a wonderful time in this exquisite home in Tuscany. The house was superb with every detail thought of. The pool and scenery were just what we were looking for. The location, between Montepulciano and Pienza was ideal and allowed for day trips and then a return home to this lovely secluded home with beautiful vistas. We split our time between dinners at excellent local restaurants and also having gourmet Italian meals prepared in the fully equipped kitchen. The home could not have been better appointed. We have rented many homes over the years but this was, by far, the best one. The owners have thought of everything and their detailed instructions made for a very easy stay. We cannot say enough nice things about the villa and hope to return for another stay. DD"

David D MD USA June 2017

A special villa

"The property was special and so are the owners. Samuela, who does most everything, is charming and always available. The views are breathtaking. The house is well furnished with everything you can imagine and more. The kitchen is a delight and the appliances are top of the line. The pool is large and cleaned each day. The grounds are impeccable and enjoyable to explore. It was the best rental property in Italy that we have ever stayed in. "

R.H. Ca USA May 2018

Absolute perfection

"This beautiful villa exceeded our expectations. It looked gorgeous from the photographs but it was even more breathtaking in person. The views out over the valley could be seen from the 2 outside patios and the bedrooms. There was plenty of seating for the 4 couples that were in our party. The kitchen and the rest of the house had every amenity you could want. There was ping pong, bocce ball, badminton, board games and of course a pool that was surrounded by hotel quality chaise lounges and umbrellas. Samuela, the housekeeper was so friendly and kept the villa spotless while we were there. Renting it was a simple and easy process and the owners are so accommodating with suggestions of restaurants, things to do in the area and general information about the house and the area. We simply can't say enough good things about this villa!! "

CS IL USA Sept 2016

The Villa Luisa exceeded all expectation

"Villa Luisa is a beautiful villa located off the main road, where you are surrounded by mountains, olive gardens and vineyards. The grounds are impeccably landscaped and the outside pool is truly breathtaking. The main house has all the charm of a historic Tuscany farm house. However every modern luxury convenience is provided for - the gourmet kitchen, the indoor dining room, the beautiful outdoor dining space and the various patios with unbelievable views which surround the house. We cooked in nearly every night as two of our guests were outstanding chefs and we would eat wonderful Italian meals outside to the sound of Italian music - It does not get much better than that. The Villa is perfectly located between Rome and Florence and nestled among numerous historic hill towns - Pienza, Montepulciano, Orvieto, and on and on. The train station to Florence or Rome is only 25 minutes away. We cannot write a complete review without mentioning Samuela, the housekeeper. She was such a wonderful treat to see every morning and she was so helpful. Since we did not speak Italian and she does not speak English we had fun communicating to one another thru Google Translate. All in all, this Villa exceeded all expectations. The owners were meticulous in their design and thoughtfulness. We could not have picked a better place to stay and will certainly stay again on our next trip to Italy. R &PG MA USA July 2016 "

R and PG MA USA July 2016

A wonderful week

"We have all had a wonderful week here. The villa just has everything one could want - space, views, comfort and a beautiful garden. It was a real pleasure to meet both Samuela and Mario. We've had wonderful days exploring the area but the highlight was always coming back down the track to your lovely Italian home. Many many thanks. "

A&R J, Dorset UK, Oct 2015

And did we mention dining?

"Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous villa with us. We had a wonderful week enjoying everything the area had to offer - dining, shopping ,touring, wine tasting, dining, walking,dining, and did we mention dining? Thoroughly enjoyed coming back each afternoon or evening to your comfortable home. Samuela and Mario were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We all hope to be fortunate enough to return again. Again thank you! Grazie mille. PS We love your Villa on the Hilla!"

K&M Seattle USA Oct 2015

Amazing vistas

"If you’re seeking a beautiful refuge in the heart of Tuscany, look no further. Beautifully renovated, yet comfortable and relaxing. Two spacious patios for relaxing and outdoor entertaining. Lovely pool area. Amazing vistas. The house and gardens are well kept by Samuela (housekeeper) and Mario (gardener), who are very helpful and welcoming. We were a capacity group, and being in the kitchen, house and grounds didn’t ever feel crowded (my personal test). It’s far enough away from the main road that you don’t hear any traffic, yet close enough for numerous day trips to explore the nearby towns. Highly recommend."

PK USA June 2015

Perfect villa for family reunion

"Arriving at this Villa was nothing less than perfect; the long winding drive to the villa and the first sight was very impressive. The property and grounds were in pristine condition, and the view of the surrounding countryside was breath taking. The owners were very responsive if needed. The housekeeper was also very knowledgeable and helpful with any questions we had. The property is perfectly located so close to so many day trip activities. We are very much looking forward to returning to this region and this villa."

CB, CA USA, May 2015

A truly memorable experience

"What a wonderful week we had! Your home is beautiful, comfortable and interesting from design concepts to art selections. Samuela did a great job of looking to our needs and Claudia's suggestions were spot on for our day trips. Between you, your resources and our travel agent in Cincinnati, our group of 6 from there and Charlottesville VA had a truly memorable experience."

TK, Charlottesville USA, October 2014

Our holiday at your home has been magical

"Our holiday at your home has been magical. You have built such a spectacularly authentic yet modern villa that has provided a wonderful location from which we have been able to explore this part of Tuscany. When you set about the task of transporting this dilapidated structure into the beautiful space experienced today, you infused your love of the countryside into each corner. The views are beautiful, enhanced by your exceptional landscaping and gardening - clearly a touch of the English countryside as well! Thank you for providing us also with your friend Claudia's experience; it was invaluable in planning our week here. We could not have found a better place than Villa Luisa to spend the week with our dear friends."

MB, Ohio USA, Oct 2014

Everything was above our expectations

"Thanks so much for sharing your home with us. Everything was above our expectations. The views and amenities were all A+. We used many of your recommendations and they were all fabulous. We had a fabulous meal with Alessandro thanks to your suggestion. Samuela was an absolute delight. We knew when we arrived that leaving would be difficult."

J & S B, USA September 2014

Beautiful Villa with Incredible Views

"As beautiful as the pictures are on the internet of this villa it is even more spectacular in person. The villa is immaculate and decoration lovely. I thought the kitchen was larger than it looked in the pictures on this website as well as the bedrooms. I don't think you can find a more gorgeous view than the one from this special villa. The owners were lovely to deal with, and very informative. We actually got to meet them and they were as lovely in person as I thought they would be. The housekeeper, Samuela, is an absolute jewel. Mario, the gardener, keeps the gardens and grounds looking pristine. We spent two weeks there. There are many wonderful towns to visit on day trips from the villa. Don't miss Cortona and Siena. "

K K July USA, July 2014

We already miss it!

"Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous villa with us. We had a wonderful time and we made some wonderful memories in your fantastic Tuscan villa. Samuela and Mario were very friendly and helpful. We can't say enough great things about Alessandro. His food was exquisite! We took many of your recommendations and loved La Porta, La Grotta and Castelmuzio! We also liked La Dolce Vita in Montepulciano. La Foce gardens were also beautiful. We took a day trip to Sorano and Pitigliano which were awe inspiring! A few of us cycled in your amazing, gorgeous countryside and we all survived the hills! Cant wait to come back some day. We already miss it!"

AB, Arlington USA, July 2014

Breathtaking!!

"Words cannot express how happy this trip to Tuscany and this Villa has made me. This 70th birthday will be remembered forever. Thank you to all my family, Brigid and John, Mario and Samuela."

R le B, MA USA, April 2014,

Two weeks at Villa Luisa

"Our two weeks at Villa Luisa were the most tremendous success. We had an absolutely fabulous time as did all of our guests. Everyone was hugely impressed by the house – great quality, enormous attention to detail, wonderful taste – we really couldn’t have wished for more. Many, many thanks for creating Villa Luisa. Such a wonderful place to have a special holiday. Samuela is a marvel and such a lovely person. Alessandro, the chef, is a genius – some of the pasta he cooked for us was the best we had ever tasted. Thanks for putting us in touch. Being able to eat in at Villa Luisa most of the time was a real luxury but we did get out a bit to the local restaurants. We went to La Porta (now called Daria) twice, once in the evening and once for lunch. A great success both times. Daria is such a nice person and great hostess. We also has a lovely lunch at 13 Gobbi (fun people) and very nice dinners at La Botte Piena (unbelievable wine list) and Tenuta Santo Pietro. All can safely remain on your list of recommendations."

J W Sept 2013

A week in Tuscany

"We have had the most wonderful week at Villa Luisa! From the moment we came down the Strada Bianca, through the gates and down to the house we knew it was a little piece of Heaven! Everything about the house and the grounds is perfectly elegant, peacefully, calm and nurturing - we have been so comfortable here , and hate to leave! Our time was totally enhanced by having the delightful Samuela around and the gallant Mario bringing us fresh salads from the garden - 2 absolute treasures!! My Italian improved greatly, so the next visit will be even more fun! We had a wonderful birthday dinner last night cooked by Alessandro!! Molto Buono. A highlight visit for Mother was "la Foce"! Recommend to anyone who likes gardens and local history! The pool of course was sublime and a life saver in the heat. Tanti Auguri and thanks again for everything. M A Aug 2013 "

M A August 2013